reflections

new places

light

“And I will lead the blind
in a way that they do not know,
in paths that they have not known
I will guide them.
I will turn the darkness before them into light,
the rough places into level ground.
These are the things I do,
and I do not forsake them.”
Isaiah 42:16 ESV

I love new places and I also hate new places. Change is like a high school crush, sweeping you off your feet and then ripping your heart out and stomping on it. There is more to the story, of course, but right now I’m stuck at the stomping part.

Because new places seemed like such a glowing possibility at the beginning of the week. Until reality hit: files of past failures and the honest-to-goodness work it requires.

But the worst part about new places is that they promise something better but offer no map on how to get there, much less tips on good places to eat along the way.

Leave a Reply

